Wild Horses

I may have already written about this. Apologies.

As the oldest of my brothers, I had a few important jobs. Some was the tormenting and teasing that all older brothers must take out on their younger siblings. But along with that was for everyone to know that my my brothers were OFF LIMITS to anyone else who may think it was a good idea to pick on them.

Whether it was at the ice arena, down town or at the lake. I always had my brothers back.

The other thing that I tried to do was direct their musical tastes. I always had an eclectic taste in music that had me listening to The Doors one moment and The Clash or Ramones the next. Then onto The Beatles and Rolling Stones and finishing up with Journey or Billy Joel. I knew when I would leave the house, the youngest of my brothers, Jeff, would go into my room and pull put some Albums and listen to them. (these were vinyl albums. If you don’t know what a vinyl album is- ask your parents. Or a hipster).

I would leave certain albums out knowing Jeff would probably take the one on top. I remember leaving Face Dances, by the Who out. And Sticky Fingers by the Rolling Stones. WAR by U2 and The Alarm. One time, I came home early and could hear “Wild Horses” by The Rolling Stones playing. Now I could have been mad, but really he was doing what I wanted him to do. Listening to something better than the early 80’s POP that was on the radio. So I went back out for a bit.

That song will always remind me of him.

Jeff- I miss you every day. I am doing my best to help your family. But I am not you. They miss you too.

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
Video | This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wild Horses

  1. Pingback: Music, Life, | VACILANDO

Leave a Reply

