10 Lessons

IMG_1869The other day I drove up to our “lake house” calling it anything more than a hole in the ground right now is giving it too much credit. BUT soon it will be a lake house again. Even in the 1 year that we have owned it I have made so many memories. Memories with friends and family up there. Playing guitar with Chase on the porch. Just chilling with Maddie.  Having coffee with Ivan. Staphanie and I having our first drink out there by the fire pit (IN THE RAIN).

1379309_10153314353725591_943202307_nMemories of my brothers will always be great. It was at the lake that we took that photo with all of us. Jeff looked so healthy. I was at the lake when I got the call that his health had taken a turn for the worse and I was at the lake when I got the call that he had died. Looking forward, it will be at the lake that I will make sure his kids have fun. That we swim, go paddle boarding, boating or catch frogs.

Sometimes when I was up there I read, sometimes I napped, sipped wine, wrote, soaked up the sun, and relaxed. But mostly, I gazed out into the lake.

That’s where I found an incredible source of healing.

IMG_1943The grandness of the water created a quiet, yet visually stimulating space for my meditation. Next to the lake, I nestled into an easy place to silence the chatter noise of the external world and my inner voices.

Last summer, gazing at the water, I dug much deeper within myself than I have ever done before.

In feng shui, elementally speaking, the Water Element symbolizes spirituality and wisdom. It helps us foster a deeper sense of self. It is a vehicle that helps us navigate and seek our inner truth and purpose. And it also teaches us to go with the flow of life.

While nature has its many gifts, THIS LAKE, in particular, has taught me a few new things worth sharing, and they are:

1. Life is not always how you plan it, no matter how much you force or try to control it.

2. Change is inevitable, so you might as well welcome and embrace it.

3. Letting go is the scariest and most liberating thing you can do for yourself. It’s a gift in disguise.

4. It’s totally OK to be by yourself, alone; because sometimes, growth is a solo journey.

5. Learning to be more flexible affords you the ability to adapt. By adapting, you become more understanding, compassionate, and patient, especially when things get a little tough.

6. Clinging to the conviction of certain ideals and thoughts can sometimes destroy you. Once in a while, it’s best to bend the rules.

7. Never underestimate the power of idle silence. Some of the most profound insights come from the quietest of places.

8. Your inner strength manifests when you’re ready to confront your struggles. You are stronger than you think.

9. Make room for less talking, less exchanging. Just be.

10. Embrace all of your human tendencies — the good and bad — because those qualities already make you beautiful and real.

As the lake house, which we have named VACILANDO, takes shape. I look forward to the days, months and years spent there. With my family. Withy my friends. And lost in my own mind.

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in Motivation, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

