The Long and Winding Road

My senior year of high school, quite a long time ago, I remember being in my listening to the radio. I was listening to the DJ  at the local college radio station give a commentary on the path of college graduates as the Beatles’ song played in the back ground.

Although it was not the first time I had heard the song. It may have been the first time I actually listened. We have all had moments where a song takes on a new meaning. Ever since that day, every time I hear that song I am transported back in time to that day. I can remember the scent of the room and the way the light was coming through the windows.

McCartney  said he originally wrote the song at his farm in Scotland, and was inspired by the growing tension among the Beatles. We have all been faced with difficult situations in our lives. That winding road taking you away from the chaos but you can read as much into it as you want.In the end I believe it is a love song- love of a person…time…or place….i think another interpretation of this song is that sometimes one may find the person that they are meant to be with, but due to other circumstances, they are somewhat rejected from having a long term relationship with that person. I think that this song talks about how you never let go of that one person, no matter how many others your with or what happens with your life. your mind leads you back or “takes you back down the road” to that one “home” that you found in that certain person.

The long and winding road
That leads to your door
Will never disappear
I’ve seen that road before
It always leads me here
Lead me to you door

The wild and windy night
That the rain washed away
Has left a pool of tears
Crying for the day
Why leave me standing here
Let me know the way

Many times I’ve been alone
And many times I’ve cried
Any way you’ll never know
The many ways I’ve tried

But still they lead me back
To the long winding road
You left me waiting here
A long long time ago
Don’t leave me standing here
Lead me to your door

But still they lead me back
To the long winding road
You left me waiting here
A long long time ago
Don’t leave me standing here
Lead me to your door

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

