Music

A song on the radio can bring back the past with fierce (if mercifully transitory) immediacy. A first kiss, a good time with your friends, or an unhappy life passage.

I can never hear “Born to Run” by Bruce Springsteen without thinking of the day I drove out of Cortland, NY the day after I graduated High School, never to return. It was the song playing on the cassette player as I drove away. (Do you know what a cassette is?)

“The Lion Sleeps Tonight” was a song my mother always sang to me.

I can never hear the song “Wild Horses” by the Rolling Stones without thinking of my brother Jeff who passed away about 18 months ago.

There are a few songs that will always remind me of my kids. Songs I sang to them from the day they were born. My daughter’s tattoo is actually the first musical bar of the song I sang to her. “Goodnight My Angel” by Billy Joel.
I heard my son playing, “Sweet Baby James” the other day. It was the song I sang to him as a baby until he told me not to sing anymore!

There will always be some songs that remind me of summers at gymnastics camp.
Of those, I will not speak.

There are so many songs that remind me of my wife. “I wanna be Sedated” by the Ramones was the first song we danced to. It is a song that will ALWAYS make me smile! “With a little love” by some unknown group from a long time ago. Possibly Book of Love?

some songs that remind me of some good times with friends.
Imagine Dragons-On Top of The World. and It’s Time

Killers- Miss Atomic Bomb

And songs that will always hurt
5 seconds of Summer, Amnesia

The Replacements. Sadly Beautiful

I get a feeling this will be a blog I continue adding to.

ADDITION:

A very long time ago I went to Magic Mountain (now a 6 Flags place) in California with my cousins and a friend. We went to this Rock n Roll Historical Tribute at the end of the night.  The opening Song was “Rock It” by Queen. The opening lines of that song:

When I hear that rock and roll,
It gets down to my soul,
When it’s real rock and roll, oh rock and roll.

Oh Oh, Oh Oh,
You really think they like to rock in space?
Well I don’t know

will forever remind me of that California Summer and a friend I never got to know well enough,

BUT NOW IS THE AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION PART- LET ME KNOW SOME OF YOUR SONGS.

About Tony

Gymnastics Coach, Educational Consultant, Part Time Stand up Comic,
This entry was posted in life, Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music

  1. Denise R Edmonds says:

    If you look at the discs I gave you of old videos, you will see Maddie at about 3, dressed in her easter outfit, and belting out “I want to be Sedated”. Of course “The lion sleeps tonight” and “For Baby for Bobbie” make my heart swell. Isn’t it strange that we never knew the effect these songs would have on us at the time? I have a whole CD of important songs. Do you?

  2. Pingback: Music, Life, | VACILANDO

Leave a comment