Strength

A few years ago the death of a friend brought us together.  My “gymnastics family”. These were guys who I competed with, guys who I coached with, guys who I learned from and I hope, guys who I may have taught a thing or two.

We came together to be strong for our mentor and friend who had just lost his wife. During the wake we were the ones in the back. We were the ones laughing and telling stories about Barbra. About the time she made exlax brownies, about the time we took all the furniture from their room and replaced it with doll furniture, about how many times she fired Jose’ and about what an amazing cook she was. She would want us laughing. She wouldn’t want to see us crying or sad.

We went out for some food and drink between viewings at the wake. We went to the place where we all used to go “as a family”. This was our Tuesday night “Staff Meeting” place. We would order beer and food (and did I mention beer?) and talk a little about gymnastics. Who was doing what and who wasn’t doing what. Mostly it was just joking around. As the night grew late Joel or Barbra would say, “Quick- somebody ask me about how the business is going” and we would oblige. When we left they had already paid our bill. Saying it was a “Business meeting”.

Anyway, As the four of us sat around and toasted Barbra, D.C. said, “Guys, we have more funerals than weddings in the next few years. These suck as reunions. I promise to stay in touch.”

And he did. Sometimes it was just a quick message on Facebook, sometimes it was an e-mail or a phone call. He kept his word.

I have a lot going on in my life right now. If you know me you may know some of it.  If you don’t know me- TRUST ME, It’s a lot, and not all good…

I was on my way home from work today and realized it has been a while since I had spoken with D.C.  Just a little longer than usual. So I called him.

He answered and sounded pretty weak. He got right to the point. Leukemia.  I had to pull over. I thought I was going to be sick. Not another one. I can’t handle another one.

We spoke for a while and I made him laugh (that has always been my gift to these guys). We spoke about his upcoming treatments. He asked how things were with my family. It was at that point that I realized that I HAVE TO BE STRONG. I have to be the solid one. With my Family. With my Gym Family. That is my role.

Sorry for such a downer- I will post something later here and at http://www.gymmomentum.com as he narrows his search for donors.

Dave’s friends have started a Go Fund Me. Help Dave Beat This Disease.

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in Gymnastics, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Strength

  1. D. Kathleen says:

    You don’t always have to be upbeat for your readers. Writing about what you feel is cathartic. Life’s an endless roller coaster. Who knew–right? I’m sorry about your friend.

  2. Joe Toshach says:

    Sorry about your friend. Just remember to lean on your friends who are always there for you. And since I know you have a penchant for music, I’ll leave this for you:

    Trouble, trouble me
    Disturb me with all your cares and your worries
    Trouble me
    On the days when you feel spent
    Why let your shoulders bend underneath this burden
    When my back is sturdy and strong?
    Trouble me

    Speak to me
    Don’t mislead me, the calm I feel means a storm is swelling
    Speak to me
    There’s no telling where it starts or how it ends
    Speak to me
    Why are you building this thick brick wall to defend me?
    Speak to me
    When your silence is my greatest fear

    Why let your shoulders bend underneath this burden
    When my back is sturdy and strong?
    Speak to me

    Let me
    Have a look inside these eyes while I’m learning
    Let me
    Please don’t hide them just because of tears
    Let me
    Send you off to sleep with a
    There, there, now stop your turnin’ and tossin’
    Let me
    Let me know where the hurt is and how to heal

    Spare, spare me
    Don’t spare me anything

    Trouble me, trouble me
    Disturb me with all your cares and you worries
    Speak to me
    And let our words build a shelter from the storm
    Let me
    And lastly, let me know what I can mend

    There’s more, honestly, than my sweet friend, you can see
    Trust is what I’m offering if you trouble me

  3. Pingback: It’s Not How You Die. It’s How You Live | VACILANDO

Leave a Reply

