Walking Alone

IMG_0390In my current line of work I spend a great deal of time on the road and alone. I am OK with that as I can be a bit of an introvert. Yes, sometimes the voices in my head get a bit loud, but nothing I can’t handle. When the voices get a bit loud, I tend to hit the street and go for a walk. I am currently not so inclined as we are weathering a snow storm here in Iceland (HAPPY APRIL!). When I travel I am perpetually the outsider. Whether I am in Iceland to Australia, Europe or North America or on a rare vacation, I may be entertaining a group or speaking to a large audience but I am still alone.

Now before your think I am whining (maybe too late) I have some very good friends. Friends who I speak with and who also are comfortable with the silence. Sometimes just their presence makes me stronger.

A FB post from Dr Bill Sands said: Former US President John F. Kennedy was entertaining a group of Nobel Prize winners at the White House and said:

I think this is the most extraordinary collection of talent, of human knowledge, that has ever been gathered at the White House – with the possible exception of when Thomas Jefferson dined alone.

I take comfort in that. It is OK to be alone. Especially when some do not share your same destination. By setting both short and long term goals I never feel that I am alone in the middle of nowhere. There are always a few people around. If only for a little while.

i_walk_a_lonely_road_by_constantlybleeding-d4ozafu

I just feel that it may be better to walk alone than with a crowd moving in the wrong direction.

It is OK to break from the group to continue in your desired direction. Don’t be afraid to ask for directions or help. Keep your eyes on the horizon (your goals) and keep moving. Do not let your problems push you. Instead, be lead by your dreams.

Although I am an introvert I am NOT a loner. The reason I don’t enjoy small talk isn’t because I dislike people. I think it is because when most people make small talk they are full of BS. They just talk to hear their voice and they rarely listen. This creates a bigger barrier between people than than no talk at all.

254837_435174439858589_1265009634_n

IMG_1004

As I sat down to edit this blog I clicked on FB to try to catch up on life back in USA. I read a status from someone that I met a year ago. A truly remarkable individual.

It’s okay I don’t fit into any social group. It’s okay that no matter what activity I’m in I will always feel like the odd one out. It’s okay that whatever I’m feeling no one will ever feel the same way. It’s okay to be different from everybody else. It’s okay not to belong in a certain category. I will never fit just one. I will fit them all or none.

My friend, you are never alone in being alone. As you walk alone down the street of life your eyes will briefly glance up and make contact with someone crossing your path. Just give them a smile. In that one moment, you are not alone.

I previously wrote about being an introvert

Guitar and my pen

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in life, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walking Alone

  1. It’s okay I don’t fit into any social group. It’s okay that no matter what activity I’m in I will always feel like the odd one out. It’s okay that whatever I’m feeling no one will ever feel the same way. It’s okay to be different from everybody else. It’s okay not to belong in a certain category. I will never fit just one. I will fit them all or none.

    Thank You So much for Qouting Jade!

Leave a Reply

