My Universe is Out Of Balance

I have just realized that my Universe is out of balance.

I have an amazing life and certainly an amazing family. But somehow it is incomplete and out of balance.

I grew up in Upstate NY. Born in Rome, NY and went to High school in Cortland, NY. Spend my first few years of college in Utica before moving to New Hampshire to finish college. I have lived in NH ever since.

Work takes me to many, many places through out the country and the world. I have spent a great deal of time and worked in Italy, Iceland, Australia, France, Germany, Japan, and just about every State in the US. No- I am not in the witness protection program. I am a gymnastics coach and writer. Lately I travel to work and educate other gymnastics professionals. I write this from a condo overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Daytona Beach. Tomorrow I hop on a plane to Portland, Oregon.

With all this travel I have seen some amazing places and met some amazing people. I have Hiked to Reykjadalur in Iceland and pet a kangaroo in Australia. I have had a cafe at the Vatican and sushi in Nagoya.  What I have realized is that there are still somethings I miss about New York.

I still miss the smell of the pines in the Adirondacks and countless summer days at Raquette Lake and Otter Lake.

I miss a lot of the local food.

  • The Pie Guy in Old Forge.
  • Garbage Plates in Rochester
  • REAL chicken wings from Buffalo
  • Speidies from Binghamton
  • Chicken Riggies from Rome NY
  • Utica Greens (never to be eaten until about 3 AM after a night out)
  • Hell, I even miss Utica Club Beer.

I miss going to Saint John’s Fair in Rome and Saint Anthony’s Fair in Cortland

I miss hiking through the gorges around Ithaca

I miss autumn days on walks around the finger lakes

Most of all- I miss the friends that I made along the way. I miss the innocence of our youth. I miss the trouble we seemed to find.

10561712_10154562691350591_7454177551442558097_n

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Universe is Out Of Balance

  1. Lisa Bretz says:

    Tony…I feel that same sense of….unbalance… at times. Truth be told, I feel it most of the time. I carry my hometown around with me, in my memories. But it’s deeper than that. It’s in my cells. I can hear a song, smell a certain scent, hear a name, and I’m back in that place. That place that brought both joy and pain. But mostly it brought comfort. And I don’t think I will ever feel that sense of “home” again. Until I read an article…by an old friend. And for a few minutes, I am “home” again.

  2. Pingback: Season of Hope. Reconnecting – Tony Retrosi

  3. Pingback: Looking Back on High School | VACILANDO

Leave a Reply

