I just thought I didn’t like PEOPLE

I have a confession to make: I am not the person you imagine me to be. I spend a great deal of my life in the public eye.  In person, I am not as witty and outspoken as I seem when I am up on stage or teaching. Oh sure, I am still funny, hilarious even, but not in the beginning. In the beginning, I will stand awkwardly while making weird small talk that makes everyone uncomfortable. I will say things without thinking them through or just stand like a mute, smiling like an idiot. I like it when my wife is around because she can lead the conversations.

The older I become, the more self-aware I’m becoming also. I know how I act, I see the flaws in it, but I just keep doing it.

Mostly I hate going to social events. I hate small talk and never know who I should talk to. I don’t like going up to people and starting conversations, I’ve never been good at shooting the shit with strangers. Truthfully, I thought it was because I just hated people.

Not you people, obviously, but other people.

But the more I learn about myself, it’s not that I don’t like people, I love people! Most people, anyway.

I’m an introvert and I never knew it.

For years I would have said I was an extrovert. Because I’m loud, I’m completely at ease in my circles, and I like going to parties. I speak in front of large audiences. But I don’t want to talk to people at parties.  I suck at small talk. I never know what to say. I want to be laugh and be crazy with my small group of peeps and ignore the rest. I thought I was just a rude extrovert.

Nope, totally an introvert. And it took a few personality quizzes for me to finally accept it, like being an introvert was bad and shameful. I wanted to be the welcoming, friendly, gracious person that goes everywhere and can talk to everyone. But even typing that sentence makes me shudder. I don’t really want that, it’s just that I think it would be cool to be like that. (You know, when I’m daydreaming about how cool  While I am sitting in the cafe reading by myself.)

Realizing I’m an introvert has been freeing in a way. I don’t have to think something’s wrong with me when I really don’t want to go somewhere three nights in a row. When I long for a quiet night at home with just my little family. When I want this most nights, actually.

Okay, when I want this every night.

I like being home and making dinner (or ordering Indian food, let’s be honest), playing guitar, maybe watching TV and falling asleep to a good book.

Somewhere along the way, I got the idea that it was wrong to want these things. Maybe it’s just age that makes me more comfortable with myself and who I am. An introvert that would rather have a few close friends than a million sort-of friends. Someone who gets energy from being by myself.

So I guess I am an introvert. Or maybe just lazy.

Whew, glad I got that off my chest.

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

