30 Days of Peace. 6

Too many times we worry about the things we cannot change. It becomes a vicious cycle of despair.

  • There is no point in voting.
  • It doesn’t matter if I work towards peace because no one else will.
  • My neighbor does not need my help
  • Why should I stop to help?

Don’t you realize that we can be the people that we have always wanted to be. We can be the country that we have always wanted. But you must take a chance. Take Action. Believe that we are better than what is going on around us. We are better than these immature politicians fighting for our vote. You have to get involved because no matter what your state is, there is someone who needs your help to get by. That help can be something as small as a smile. Handing someone a blanket or jacket you are no longer wearing. Have you ever bought a coffee for the person behind you in line at your favorite coffee shop? Didn’t that make you feel good? Didn’t that make them feel good?

Now I’ve been happy lately
Thinking about the good things to come
And I believe it could be
Something good has begun

Oh, I’ve been smiling lately
Dreaming about the world as one
And I believe it could be
Some day it’s going to come

‘Cause out on the edge of darkness
There rides a peace train
Oh, peace train take this country
Come take me home again

Now I’ve been smiling lately
Thinking about the good things to come
And I believe it could be
Something good has begun

Oh, peace train sounding louder
Glide on the peace train
Come on the peace train
Yes, peace train holy roller

Everyone jump upon the peace train
Come on the peace train
Get your bags together
Go bring your good friends too
‘Cause it’s getting nearer
It soon will be with you

A few years ago I was having a pretty bad day. Just one of those days where nothing seems to be going right. (1st world problems). It was my birthday and I was a little bummed out. I was just feeling a little sorry for my self. I went to my favorite cafe and as I approached the counter to get my coffee they told me my coffee was free. (A lovely friend who knew I frequented that cafe had called in and bought my coffee and a pistachio muffin!). My money was already out so I bought the coffee for the next person in line and went and sat down. I watched that act of kindness pass down the line. It lasted about 10 minutes! Peace and happiness is contagious. It all started with a $2 cup of coffee and it made so many people smile.

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in life, peace, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

