30 Days of Peace. 19

We are who we are at least in part, because of a teacher. Teachers should be paid well and thanked!

IF YOU THINK EDUCATION IS EXPENSIVE- TRY IGNORANCE.

If we are going to exist in a peaceful society, we must have an educated society. We must encourage intellectual curiosity. We must teach our children the similarities of our societies and what previous civilizations contributed to our present society. We need to learn from the mistakes of our past. We need to teach the glory of peace, not just the glory of war.

Thank the teachers who come in early and stay late. Thank the teachers that took the time to explain a difficult problem. Thank the teacher who knew you were having a bad day and stopped to ask what was up.

Thank the first teachers you had (your parents).

 

Dear teacher,

I know your job was to teach me calculus, but you taught me so much more than that, so for that I say “thank you.” In calculus, you would challenge us to understand how we got an answer rather than memorizing an equation. Though this was very helpful for my grade in calculus, it has been key to my success outside your class. It has shown me not to just survive, going through life in thoughtless motions, but to actually live and to learn as I go along. Thank you for loving the subject you taught so much — it made it easier to learn and showed me how to be passionate about learning.

Thank you for taking 10 minutes out of class to read some of your favorite passages and for teaching us that there is so much more to life than understanding calculus and getting good grades. Thank you for letting Truth be the foundation of your thoughts and words; it radiated light even in the darkest of times. Thank you for treating me like a person, not just your student, and for coming to sporting events or choir concerts after school when you weren’t getting paid; it has taught me the importance of investing in people. Thank you for respecting me, for treating me like an adult, not a just student who is confused in class.

Thank you for laughing with us when needed and for grieving with us when life was too hard to handle. Thank you for pushing me past what my limits of capabilities; it taught me to live life as though I can do anything I set my mind to. Thank you for staying late after school to give me advice when I needed it. Thank you for not disappearing after I graduated and for asking me how college is going.

It has been many years since I was in your classroom, but as I continue on, I still remember you. I remember the message you left. You have spoken deeply. After college I went into education and although I no longer teach in a class room I teach my gymnasts every day. Because you taught us WAY MORE than just calculus, I try to teach WAY MORE than just gymnastics. I hope I can change someone’s life the way you changed mine.  I am sure you are retired now and I hope you are enjoying the fruits of your labor. You changed generations.  I am sad that I don’t have you as a teacher anymore hear the Truth you speak beyond the subject you are teaching.

Thank you for sharing and living out the words written in “The Little Prince”: “And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.” You have touched the future by the way you teach. Your words ignite hope and passion within souls. You spark a love of learning beyond the classroom. You changed my life and I am forever grateful.

Sincerely,

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in peace and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

