Some thoughts on turning 50

A few weeks ago I turned 50. Wow, how the hell did that happen? When I was in high school and college, 50 seemed so…old.

When I turned 40 it was, “I’m just 21 with 19 years experience” Now even my “experience” is old enough to rent a car.

Since turning 50 I realize my body feels like a five year old cellphone. The battery never quite charges up to 100% and it has a few cracks. It works ok, just slower.

I was in Italy when I turned 50 and  I had a great time. I loved turning 50, but  going through my mail when I returned and getting my first “reminder”  to schedule my Doctors appointment feels like receiving a handwritten note from mortality.

In the mail was also my first opportunity to sign up for AARP. It listed all the benefits of membership. They really could work on their marketing. I probably would have read the material before throwing it into the recycling bin if it had started with, “WE DIDN’T THINK YOU’D MAKE IT THIS LONG EITHER!” or “Having trouble remembering all the stupid things you did in your 20’s? AARP is here to help”.  Your card should be printed with “The AARP card entitles you to an additional 10 IDGAFs every day.”

Personally I can’t tell if turning 50 feels like downshifting a car from 4th gear to 2nd or if my body punishing me for lack of sleep the last 21 years. Now I hot the gym nearly every morning. (No- it has NOTHING to due with the innocent comment about my middle age spread.). I have discovered that Middle age is the time in life when, after pulling in your stomach, you look as if you ought to pull in your stomach.

In the end, I’m feeling pretty good. If this is what middle age feels like… I’d still rather be 50 than deal with my 20’s again.

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in Advice, growth, Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some thoughts on turning 50

  1. I am 500 or so days from 50. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet…except that I want to have a great party.

Leave a Reply

