30 Days of Peace. 24. Repost

I am reposting this.

In April I wrote a post on peace every day. 30 days of peace. After yet ANOTHER tragic shooting, it makes me wonder why?

One politician wants extraordinary screening to not allow terrorists in. The murderer in this case was born in Queens, NY.

I see people posting all over FB saying that if MORE people had guns this could have been avoided or casualties reduced. The murder was engaged in a shootout with an armed (and trained) off duty police officer before entering in to the nightclub.

I see people saying, “If I had a gun and was in there I’d go down shooting”

Have you no shame?! I’d bet that AFTER you got done peeing yourself you would end up shooting an innocent person.

I’m tired of explaining to my children and children I work with WHY this happens with far to regularity.

I’m tired of listening to the gun nuts.

I’m just tired.

so- Fuck you and your cowboy mentality. You will not change my mind and I know I will not change yours.

Lets think about What really makes our country great. Our ability to agree to disagree YET still want to raise our children in a world of peace.

What Makes America Great. TOLERANCE

I am a frequent world traveler. I love seeing the world. And I love it when I come home. I am proud to a citizen of this country. I have represented the USA as a coach and athlete at International competitions.

I have promised my self that I would not get lost in politics this month. With out taking sides I find “Make America Great Again” to be offensive. I think we are a great country, with great ideas. We are the country where many, many other people want to immigrate to.

I don’t believe that we have to destroy what makes our country great in order to save it. The damage we are doing to our society is troubling.

America is the great “melting pot,” a rich blend of cultural traditions from all over the world. Many American families can trace their histories to immigrant ancestors who traveled great distances, enduring risk and hardship, to make a home where they would be guaranteed basic freedoms. And for many American families these freedoms came with a struggle. Their parents and grandparents were denied the basic rights we value.

American society was founded on freedom from religious persecution and on tolerance of differences in beliefs and cultural heritage. The differences (or diversity) that come from people from all over the world enrich our culture, bringing new ideas and energy.

Today, more than ever, kids interact with people of differing ethnicities, religions, and cultures.

Tolerance refers to an attitude of openness and respect for the differences that exist among people. Although originally used to refer to ethnic and religious differences, the concepts of diversity and tolerance can also be applied to gender, people with physical and intellectual disabilities, and other differences, too.

Tolerance means respecting and learning from others, valuing differences, bridging cultural gaps, rejecting unfair stereotypes, discovering common ground, and creating new bonds. Tolerance, in many ways, is the opposite of prejudice.

But does tolerance mean that all behaviors have to be accepted? Of course not. Behaviors that disrespect or hurt others, like being mean or bullying, or behaviors that break social rules, like lying or stealing, should not be tolerated. Tolerance is about accepting people for who they are — not about accepting bad behavior. Tolerance also means treating others the way you would like to be treated.

A child is born, and a mamma’s torn
About the life that it’s bound to live
A sun and moon and a modest home
Is all they asking the Lord to give
But politics and big events they never seem to notice the little guy
So make a plan or simply hold a hand but don’t ever be a passer by

Tolerance or violence and the whole world goes to war
Is one enough or is one too many
Before we say, “No More”
Could you ever love a pot of gold?
Could you ever love another lonely soul?
Could you ever find a love that was oceans wide?
Could you ever find love in another stranger’s eyes?

Oh, give a little,
Tolerance, tolerance
We need you more and more
So lend a hand or simply hold a friend
That’s in need of a life support
Draw a picture, share a whisper
Anyway that you can rise above
And when the end is near who is goanna volunteer
To be the last one to die for love

Tolerance or violence and the whole world go to war
Is one enough or is one too many
Before we say, “No More”
No more, no more, no more, no more

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in peace, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

