Retrosi, Adolfi Family Origins

A decade ago I was able to reconnect with my family on my fathers side in Italy. Since then I have been over to see them once or twice a year. This really makes me one of the luckiest people in the world. I have my Mother’s side of the family in Sweden next on my list!

My Great Grandfather (my grandfather’s father) Angelo Retrosi immigrated to the USA from, Alatri Italy.

My Grandmother’s father came to the USA from Veroli Italy.

Alatri and Veroli are 2 mountain top towns in the same region about 1/2 way between Rome and Naples. You can look across the valley and see one from the other.

To my Retrosi and Adolfi family- Here are photos from the last couple of trips. If you are ever interested in joining me on a trip, let me know. I am happy to take you.

Photos of Alatri and Veroli

img_1277

Veroli from Alatri

 

img_4718

Alatri from Veroli

Alatri

img_0007

Alatri from Cousin Daniele’s House

RETROSI FAMILY CHURCHimg_3468

img_3453

img_3421img_3422img_3445img_3446

img_3430

img_1306

Stephanie and Michaelina Retrosi

img_3628

Major Gate of Alatri. Aligned with the rising sun of the summer solstice

img_1332

Paul, Tony, Sergio, Daniele Retrosi

img_4663

This Cross was built on a hill outside of Alatri by Family Retrosi. A US Bomber was supposed to drop a bomb on Alatri. One of the bombardiers knew there were no military targets in Alatri and dropped the payload outside of town.

Grapes with Alatri in the background

VEROLI

img_4786

The Gate of Veroli (SPQV is a Latin phrase Senatus Populous Que Veroli)

img_4736

img_4745

Yes- A Car CAN drive up this street

img_4722

The Cemetery in Veroli’s oldest church

img_4723

Oldest Church

img_4789

img_4758

img_4756

Cousin Antonio taking photos

Just some random photos

About tretrosi2013

Gymnastics Coach, Gymnastics Educator, Part time stand up comic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

