Unconventional Things I am Thankful For

I have a pretty great life. Having grown up reasonably poor I think I have really learned to appreciate the small things. Things like a quiet moment with my coffee before I head out the door to work. We were taught about hard work and No matter what our financial situation was at the time, there really were not any NEEDS that were unmet. My family always found something to laugh about and we still do today.

There are so many things to be Thankful for. Keeping with my recent trend of LISTS Here is my list of some of the unorthodox things I have been thankful for.Toilet paper: Just imagine what it was like without it! What would it be like without it now? It’s a scary thought.

– Toothpaste: By the time the Founding Fathers of the U.S. were in their 70s and 80s (including Jefferson, Washington, Adams and Franklin), they were near or totally toothless. Enough said.
– Deodorant and perfume: Yeah, you know what I mean! You’ve smelled the unpleasantness of those without such niceties and have probably been smelled by others when you went without! Life is simply better when we see our friends coming long before smelling them
– Soap: I have stood and sat by people for whom soap effectively did not exist. Deodorant only goes so far at masking other people’s stench, after all. I’m deeply grateful for it!- I am thankful my kids couldn’t decode my Dadisms, like the fact that “Let’s play the quiet game” really means: “Stop talking, my ears are bleeding.” Or “One day you’ll thank me” really means: “Hopefully, we’ll all forget this ever happened.”
– I am thankful my daughter has not forgotten about when I had her believing that she had an older sister named Katherine who we sent to a convent.
– I am thankful that I haven’t had to clean up pee (kid’s, pet’s, or otherwise) once this week.
– I am thankful for stars like George Clooney, Rob Lowe and Johnny Depp, who make being over 50 seem not so old.
– I am thankful sweetener packets can be used as makeshift floss — in a pinch.
– I am thankful for Netflix, which allows me to watch shows that started six seasons ago and end in a month. (I will be more thankful when there is a Netflix Anonymous.)
– Although it makes me sad because my kids are grown up – I am thankful I haven’t tripped over or stepped on: a Lego, Barbie, ball, skateboard, drum stick, puzzle piece, My Little Pony, or something from a Happy Meal in the last few years.
– I am thankful my kids never realized that I had no clue what I was doing.
– I am thankful for the $20 bill I found in my jeans yesterday — that’s always exciting.

I am forever thankful to my amazing neighbors.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m beyond thankful for traditional stuff as well, but it’s super cathartic to mention the stuff that might get you kicked out of Thanksgiving dinner.

And MOSTLY I AM THANKFUL FOR YOU: I’m grateful for people like you who visit my blog and read what I have to say, who share what I say with others and share what they think about what I say with me. I am grateful for you.

About Tony

Gymnastics Coach, Educational Consultant, Part Time Stand up Comic,
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unconventional Things I am Thankful For

  1. Pingback: Things That I am Thankful For 2014

  2. Patricia Tapio says:

    Thankful for meeting you and love this blog post!
    Tricha Tapio
    SC

Leave a comment